Not Feeling The “Magic of Christmas” Yet.  I’m Okay With That.

I’m still waiting.images
I’m up early this Christmas Eve morning.  Both trees are lit. Coffee is brewing. Gifts are wrapped and ready. It’s a white Christmas. My marriage, kids, job, friendships and health are all good. All seems great.

However, I’m still waiting.  I’ve been waiting for the “feeling” since Thanksgiving.  You know…the “Christmas feeling.”  I keep going thru the motions hoping to eventually “feel it.”

Every year, we expect (and usually manufacture) an intangible, mystical, esoteric “feeling” that gives extra meaning to this holiday.  Without it, something seems wrong. Do we really have to “feel it”?  Nope.  Not at all.  I’m not feeling the “magic of Christmas” yet. I’m ok with that.

Despite how we “feel,” Christmas is awesome.  We celebrate the fact that the Almighty God came to earth.  More importantly, we celebrate why He came. 

He came so we don’t have to keep trying (unsuccessfully) to save ourselves.  He already has, and continues to change me.  I don’t have to wait for that.  I don’t have to manufacture a “feeling” about that either.  It’s a fulfilling reality.

I’m very much ok with the fact that I don’t “feel” the “magic of Christmas” this year.

Today and tomorrow, I will be thinking much about…and enjoying the “why of Christmas” instead.

Join me. Explore the “why of Christmas.”

One response to “Not Feeling The “Magic of Christmas” Yet.  I’m Okay With That.

  1. I have never felt it more! This is the first year in my 43 years that I see the joy, excitement, and expectations of Christmas and all that it brings (and brought) to our world. The gift of the Christ Child, a miracle that was for us all.

Leave a comment