It’s Like Getting Dressed In The Dark

2:52

Getting dressed in the dark this morning, I put on the first shirt, pants and socks I touched, not knowing if they’d even match. Unfortunately, this is often the way I live most of my days. Unaware of the outcome, I often do whatever comes my way.

I awoke at 2:52 this morning and looked at my phone. Since Luke 2:52 is one of my favorite Bible verses, I took a screenshot.  The verse tells of four simple ways that Jesus grew; mentally, physically, spiritually & socially.

Anxious about the complex way I live most of my days, I failed to find sleep again. I crave simplicity, yet rarely find it. Because everything is important to me, I say “yes” to most everything.  Just thinking about this causes restlessness.

Finally, I slid out of bed in the dark and reached in my dresser for some clothes. Unaware of the colors involved, I put on the first things I found…hoping that I wouldn’t embarrass myself at an early morning meeting.  There was that anxiety again…caused by saying “yes” to the first things I would touch…

Tomorrow, I’m sitting down to simplify my core values.  Maybe I’ll just use Luke 2:52 and copy Jesus.

I’m sure you’ll hear how it goes.

Leave a comment