Setting Metabolisms In The Morning (My Theory)

Days work better for me when I set the three metabolisms in motion
during the first hour I am awake.  
 
Physical: A doughnut or pop-tart for breakfast causes me to crave sugar all day.  When I drink a full bottle of water and eat some oatmeal instead, I’ll make better food choices for the rest of the day.  If I do some sit ups or something in those early hours, my body seems to maintain the momentum. My physical metabolism is better prepared to remain active all day.

Spiritual:  If I put worship music in my ears, during that crucial first hour…I seem better “calibrated” with God’s heart for the remainder of the day.  When I put my face into His Word and prayerfully reflect on it’s application…  my spiritual metabolism is set.

Mental: I must take a few minutes to consider and deal with my “issues.” I need to make sure i am doing the right things for the right reasons at the right time for the  right reasons (my motivations need challenged often.)  It’s easier to re-adjust throughout the day if set my mental metabolism early by looking at my personal core values and maybe read something that remind me of my role on this planet…

When home:  I am trying to live out the following routine
  1. Wake
  2. Weigh myself
  3. Headphones in
  4. Coffee started
  5. Drink a full bottle of water
  6. Make lunches
  7. Sit-up and core exercises
  8. Coffee/Bible/Pray/Journal
  9. Breakfast
  10. Shower

A healthy rhythm of life requires more attention than what we do during our waking hours.  But I’m finding it vital to adjust my “settings” early each day.

 

One response to “Setting Metabolisms In The Morning (My Theory)

  1. Somewhere in there you ought to also greet and kiss your wife and kids! …this was probably just the lead up to that, right?

Leave a comment